You are here

People - All

Glennys Young
Professor, Chair, Jon Bridgman Endowed Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
glennys@uw.edu / (206) 685-8192
Office Hours: S 2020: Contact by email to set up an appointment.
SMI 308C
Graduate Program Assistant, Alumni
histgrad@uw.edu / (206) 543-8291
SMI 315B
Josh Apfel
Administrator
joshito@uw.edu / (206) 543-2375
SMI 308A
Jordanna Bailkin
Professor, Jere L. Bacharach Endowed Professor in International Studies
bailkin@uw.edu / (206) 543-7342
Office Hours: W 2020: Wednesdays, 12:30-1:20, or by appointment.
SMI 218D
Professor George Behlmer
Professor
behlmer@uw.edu / (206) 543-5747
Office Hours: W 2020: Wednesdays 1:30-3:30, or by appointment.
SMI 108A
Photo of Arbella Bet-Shlimon
Associate Professor
shlimon@uw.edu / (206) 616-5279
Office Hours: SPR 2020: Remote meetings by appointment
SMI 204A
Alika headshot
PhD Student
abourget@uw.edu
Office Hours: HSTAA 205/AAS 101: Wednesdays 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
SMI 08
Christopher Browning
Visiting Instructor
crbrown4@uw.edu
Office Hours: W 2020: Tuesdays and Thursdays, 9:30-10:15.
SMI 316C
Professor Elena Campbell
Associate Professor, Joff Hanauer Endowed Faculty Fellow in History
eicampb@uw.edu / (206) 543-6924
Office Hours: 2020: By Appointment Only.
SMI 208A
fulbright_katiachaterji-3_copy.jpg
Doctoral Candidate
chaterji@uw.edu
Office Hours: HSTAM 313: Zoom on Wednesdays 11:00 am - 1:00 pm (PST)
Doctoral Candidate
rcoen@uw.edu
Office Hours: HSTAA 365: Zoom on Mondays 10:00 am - 12:00 pm (PST) and Wednesdays 1:30 pm - 3:00 pm (PST) and by appointment
Alexandra Colley
Assistant to the Chair
alexc09@uw.edu / (206) 543-6224
Office Hours: Working remotely
Smith 308B
Professor Purnima Dhavan
Associate Professor
pdhavan@uw.edu / (206) 616-5298
Office Hours: S 2020: Zoom and Skype on Wednesdays from 12:30 pm - 2:20 pm (PST) and by appointment
SMI 206D
Professor Dong
Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
yuedong@uw.edu / (206) 543-4999
Office Hours: Contact JSIS
THO 203C
Sara Early
Editor, Pacific Northwest Quarterly
searly@uw.edu / (206) 543-2992
SMI 203B
Patricia Ebrey
Professor
ebrey@uw.edu / (206) 685-1528
Office Hours: Contact by email to set up online meeting.
SMI 112A
Professor James Felak
Professor, Newman Center Professor in Catholic Christianity
felak@uw.edu / (206) 543-4797
Office Hours: S 2020: By email
SMI 112B
Professor John Findlay
Professor
jfindlay@uw.edu / (206) 543-2573
Office Hours: Spring 2020: Wednesdays 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm (PST) by email. Will also respond promptly to emails outside of hours listed.
SMI 108B
Professor Christoph Giebel
Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies, The Col. Donald W. Wiethuechter, USA Ret. Endowed Faculty Fellow in the History of War and Society
giebel@uw.edu / (206)-543-6885
Office Hours: S 2020: Thursdays 11:15am - 12:30 pm (PST) by email or phone (email directly for phone number)
THO 320
Susan A. Glenn
Professor, Samuel and Althea Stroum Chair in Jewish Studies
glenns@uw.edu / (206) 543-9429
Office Hours: By Appointment.
SMI 218B
F. Mira Green
Lecturer
mirag@uw.edu / (206) 616-2418
Office Hours: Contact by email to set up an appointment
SMI 104B
James Gregory
Professor, Williams Endowed Professor
gregoryj@uw.edu / (206) 543-7792
Office Hours: SPR 2020: Contact by email to set up an appointment
SMI 312B
Photo of Kyle Haddad-Fonda
Lecturer Part-Time
kqhf@uw.edu
Office Hours: Open Zoom Meeting Wednesdays 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm (PST) and by appointment via email.
Smith 208B
Doctoral Candidate
emily4mi@uw.edu
Office Hours: T 11:00-12:00 & By Appointment
SMI 318
Liora Halperin--headshot
Associate Professor , Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies, Rebecca and Jack Benaroya Chair in Israel Studies
lhalper@uw.edu
THO 316
Associate Director, Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies
heddena@uw.edu / (206) 543-7946
Office Hours: By appointment.
SMI M266
Bruce Hevly
Associate Professor
bhevly@uw.edu / (206) 543-9417
Office Hours: S 2020: Contact by email to set up an appointment
SMI 302
Raymond Jonas
Professor
jonas@uw.edu / (206) 543-5790
Office Hours: Zoom on Thursdays 12:20 pm - 1:00 pm (PST); also by appointment
SMI 210b
Portrait
Assistant Professor, James B. Palais Professor of Korean History, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
hjun@uw.edu / (206) 543-4854
Office Hours: Zoom on Mondays and Wednesdays 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm (PST)
THO 224
Professor Moon-Ho Jung
Professor, Dio Richardson Endowed Professor
mhjung@uw.edu / (206) 543-2798
Office Hours: Wednesdays, noon-1 p.m., and by appointment.
SMI 204D
A man with brown hair and glasses, shown from the shoulders up, sitting in a garden with palm trees and multi-colored decorative architecture.
Doctoral Candidate
akane14@uw.edu
Office Hours: Wednesdays, 10:30-11:30 and by appointment
Smith 103C
Photograph
PhD Graduate
rkeel@uw.edu
Office Hours: Zoom on Thursdays 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm (PST) and by appointment
SMI 103A
marhoefer
Associate Professor
marl@uw.edu
Office Hours: Spring 2020: On Zoom Wednesdays from 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm (PST)
SMI 118
Tracy L. Maschman Morrissey
Director of Academic Services
tmasch@uw.edu / (206) 221-5013
Office Hours: Drop-in or by appointment
Smith 315A
Kim McKaig
Editor, Pacific Northwest Quarterly
kmmckaig@uw.edu / (206) 543-2992
SMI 203C
McNally photo
Lecturer Part-Time
dcm9@uw.edu / (206) 543-0729
Office Hours: W 2020: Tuesdays 11 - 12 and Thursdays 5 - 6, and by appointment
SMI 104C
Mark Metzler
Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
mmetzler@uw.edu / (206) 221-5509
Office Hours: S 2020: Contact by email to set up an appointment
THO 436
Professor Matthew Mosca
Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
mosca@uw.edu
Office Hours: Contact by email to set up an appointment
SMI 103E
History Research Librarian
mudrock@uw.edu / (206) 685-1623
Office Hours: By appointment at: https://uw.libcal.com/appointments/mudrock
Suzzallo Library rm. 136
Professor Polly Myers
Full-Time Lecturer, Integrated Social Sciences
prmyers@uw.edu
Cunningham 208
Devin Naar with Ladino artifact
Associate Professor, Isaac Alhadeff Professor of Sephardic Studies, Sephardic Studies Program Chair, Director of Graduate Studies
denaar@uw.edu / (206) 616-6202
Office Hours: S 2020: Wednesdays 11:00 am - 12:00 pm (PST), or by appointment via email.
THO 322
Linda Nash
Professor
lnash@uw.edu / (206) 616-7176
Office Hours: On leave during 2019-20 academic year
SMI 203A
Margaret O'Mara, Howard & Frances Keller Professor of History, University of Washington
Professor, Howard and Frances Keller Endowed Professor
momara@uw.edu / (206) 685-2928
Office Hours: By appointment
SMI 204B
Mary O'Neil
Associate Professor
oneilmr@uw.edu / (206) 543-9370
Office Hours: W 2020: Tuesdays 3:00-4:00, or by appointment.
SMI 212A
Writing Center Director
histwctr@uw.edu / (206) 543-5692
Office Hours: Monday through Thursday 9:00 am - 2:00 pm (PST) by appointment. Go here to schedule an appointment: https://histadv.as.me/
SMI 210C
Professor Vicente Rafael
Giovanni and Amne Costigan Endowed Professorship
vrafael@uw.edu / (206) 543-5699
Office Hours: S 2020: Contact by email to set up meeting
SMI 116A
Joshua L. Reid
Associate Professor, Director, Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest
jlreid@uw.edu / (206) 616-3661
Office Hours: Winter 2020: T 1:00-2:30, W 10:30-noon, & by appointment
SMI 106
KristinRoberts
Fiscal Specialist II
krisrob7@uw.edu / (206) 543-5790
Office Hours: Mon-Fri 7:30am - 4:00pm
Smith 318
Nathan E. Roberts
Lecturer Part-Time
ner3@uw.edu / (206) 543-0729
Office Hours: Contact by email to set up an appointment
SMI 104C
Ileana Rodriguez-Silva
Associate Professor, Giovanni and Amne Costigan Endowed Professor
imrodrig@uw.edu / (206) 543-6081
Office Hours: S 2020: Mondays 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm (PST) and Thursdays 9:30 am - 10:30 am (PST) via Zoom, Skype or Email
SMI 204C
Stephanie Smallwood
Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Department of Comparative History of Ideas
ses9@uw.edu / (206) 543-2016
Office Hours: W 2020: Mondays 3:00-4:00, or by appointment.
SMI 104A
Photo of Taylor Soja in London
Doctoral Candidate , Teaching assistant
tsoja@uw.edu
Office Hours: HSTCMP 248: Thursdays on Zoom 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm (PST); Fridays by Email 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm (PST)
Robert Stacey
Professor, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
bstacey@uw.edu / (206) 221-3491
Office Hours: By appointment only. Email mhr@uw.edu.
CMU 071
Professor Robin Stacey
Professor
rcstacey@uw.edu / (206) 543-9418
Office Hours: W 2020: Tuesdays 10:30-12:00, or by appointment.
SMI 312A
Doctoral Candidate, History, Graduate Intern, Society for History in the Federal Government
rachellt@uw.edu
Office Hours: HSTAA 432: By e-mail Thursdays 10AM-12PM
Professor Lynn Thomas
Professor, Floyd U. Jones Family Endowed Chair, Interim Executive Director, School of Drama
lynnmt@uw.edu / (206) 543-4499
Office Hours: By appointment.
SMI 212B
Professor Charity Urbanski
Senior Lecturer
urbanski@uw.edu / (206) 616-5378
Office Hours: WINTER 2020: T Th 11-12, or by appointment.
SMI 316B
Undergraduate Academic Adviser
svacek@uw.edu / (206) 543-5691
Office Hours: Online Monday - Friday, 9:30 am - 4:30 pm (PST)
SMI 315C
Professor Joel Walker
Associate Professor, Lawrence J. Roseman Endowed Professorship in History
jwalker@uw.edu / 206-890-0241
Office Hours: S 2020: Tuesdays 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm (PST) and by appointment. Email me for ZOOM meeting number.
SMI 206B
PhD Student
Professor Anand Yang
Professor, Walker Family Endowed Professor in History
aay@uw.edu / (206) 543-4902
Office Hours: S 2020: Mondays 11:30 am - 1:30 pm (PST) and by appointment
SMI 316C
Yichen Zhou History
Graduate Student
zhouyc@uw.edu
Office Hours: HSTCMP 205: Zoom on Tuesdays from 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm (PST) and by appointment.

Emeritus Faculty

Frank Conlon
Professor Emeritus
conlon@uw.edu / (206) 543-5790
SMI 10
Kent Guy
Professor Emeritus
qing@uw.edu / (206) 616-5279
SMI 010
Richard Kirkendall
Professor Emeritus
rsk@uw.edu / (206) 543-7972
SMI 10
Fred Levy
Professor Emeritus
flevy@uw.edu / (206) 543-7972
SMI 10
Professor Hwasook Nam
Associate Professor Emeritus, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
hsnam@uw.edu / (206) 685-7756
Thomson 301A
Kenneth Pyle
Professor Emeritus
kbp@uw.edu / (206) 543-7717
Office Hours: MW 3:30-4:15 & By Appointment
THO 229
Professor Emeritus Quintard Taylor
Professor Emeritus, Scott and Dorothy Bullitt Professor of American History
qtaylor@uw.edu

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Email / Phone
Beadie, Nancy Adjunct Professor nbeadie@uw.edu
Berger, Dan Adjunct Associate Professor daberger@uw.edu
Bessner, Daniel Adjunct Assistant Professor dbessner@uw.edu
Freije, Vanessa Adjunct Assistant Professor vfreije@uw.edu
Gowing, Alain M. Adjunct Professor alain@uw.edu
Johnson, Eric W. Director of Technical Services, Affiliate Instructor ejred@uw.edu
206-616-9169
Kurashige, Scott Adjunct Professor stk4@uw.edu
Lange, Tyler Affiliate Assistant Professor langet2@uw.edu
(206)543-1633
Lin , James Adjunct Assistant Professor jyslin@uw.edu
(206) 543-1565
Noegel, Scott B. Adjunct Professor snoegel@uw.edu
Novetzke, Christian Adjunct Professor novetzke@uw.edu
Pianko, Noam Adjunct Professor npianko@uw.edu
Way, Thaisa Adjunct Professor tway@uw.edu
Williams, Michael A. Adjunct Professor maw@uw.edu
Woody, Andrea J. Adjunct Professor awoody@uw.edu
Yee, Shirley J. Adjunct Professor sjyee@uw.edu
Share