You are here

People - Faculty

Glennys Young
Professor, Chair, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
glennys@uw.edu / (206) 685-8192
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 308C
Jordanna Bailkin
Professor, Jere L. Bacharach Endowed Professor in International Studies
bailkin@uw.edu / (206) 543-7342
Office Hours: A 2020: Only for HSTRY 498B students Zoom Wednesdays 2:30-3:30pm (PST). All others, contact for virtual appointment.
SMI 218D
Photo of Arbella Bet-Shlimon
Associate Professor
shlimon@uw.edu / (206) 616-5279
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 204A
Professor Elena Campbell
Associate Professor, Joff Hanauer Endowed Faculty Fellow in History
eicampb@uw.edu / (206) 543-6924
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 208A
Professor Purnima Dhavan
Associate Professor
pdhavan@uw.edu / (206) 616-5298
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 206D
Professor Dong
Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
yuedong@uw.edu / (206) 543-4999
Office Hours: Contact JSIS
THO 203C
Professor James Felak
Professor, Newman Center Professor in Catholic Christianity
felak@uw.edu / (206) 543-4797
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 112B
Professor John Findlay
Professor
jfindlay@uw.edu / (206) 543-2573
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 108B
Professor Christoph Giebel
Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
giebel@uw.edu / (206)-543-6885
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
THO 320
Susan A. Glenn
Professor, Samuel and Althea Stroum Chair in Jewish Studies
glenns@uw.edu / (206) 543-9429
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 218B
James Gregory
Professor, Williams Endowed Professor, Associate Chair
gregoryj@uw.edu / (206) 543-7792
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 312B
Photo of Kyle Haddad-Fonda
Lecturer Part-Time
kqhf@uw.edu
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
Smith 208B
Liora Halperin--headshot
Associate Professor , Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies, Rebecca and Jack Benaroya Chair in Israel Studies
lhalper@uw.edu
THO 316
Bruce Hevly
Associate Professor
bhevly@uw.edu / (206) 543-9417
Office Hours: AUT 2020: Please contact by email to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 302
Raymond Jonas
Professor
jonas@uw.edu / (206) 543-5790
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 210b
Portrait
Assistant Professor, James B. Palais Professor of Korean History, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
hjun@uw.edu / (206) 543-4854
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
THO 224
Professor Moon-Ho Jung
Professor, Dio Richardson Endowed Professor
mhjung@uw.edu / (206) 543-2798
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 204D
marhoefer
Associate Professor, Jon Bridgman Endowed Professor of History
marl@uw.edu
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 118
McNally photo
Lecturer Part-Time
dcm9@uw.edu / (206) 543-0729
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 104C
Mark Metzler
Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies, Giovanni and Amne Costigan Endowed Professor in History
mmetzler@uw.edu / (206) 221-5509
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
THO 436
Professor Matthew Mosca
Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies, Director of Graduate Studies, The Col. Donald W. Wiethuechter, USA Ret. Endowed Faculty Fellow in the History of War and Society
mosca@uw.edu
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 103E
Devin Naar with Ladino artifact
Associate Professor, Isaac Alhadeff Professor of Sephardic Studies, Sephardic Studies Program Chair, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
denaar@uw.edu / (206) 616-6202
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
THO 322
Margaret O'Mara, Howard & Frances Keller Professor of History, University of Washington
Professor, Howard and Frances Keller Endowed Professor
momara@uw.edu / (206) 685-2928
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 204B
Joshua L. Reid
Associate Professor, Director, Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest
jlreid@uw.edu / (206) 616-3661
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 106
Nathan E. Roberts
Lecturer Part-Time
ner3@uw.edu / (206) 543-0729
Office Hours: AUT 20: Tuesdays 9-10AM (PST) and Fridays 2-3PM (PST), and by appointment
SMI 104C
Ileana Rodriguez-Silva
Associate Professor, Giovanni and Amne Costigan Endowed Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
imrodrig@uw.edu / (206) 543-6081
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 204C
Stephanie Smallwood
Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Department of Comparative History of Ideas
ses9@uw.edu / (206) 543-2016
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 104A
Robert Stacey
Professor, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
bstacey@uw.edu / (206) 221-3491
Office Hours: By appointment only. Email mhr@uw.edu.
CMU 071
Professor Robin Stacey
Professor
rcstacey@uw.edu / (206) 543-9418
Office Hours: A 2020: Zoom Tuesdays 10:30-12:00pm (PST), or by appointment.
SMI 312A
Professor Lynn Thomas
Professor
lynnmt@uw.edu / (206) 543-4499
Office Hours: AUT 20: Zoom Tuesdays/Thursdays 12:45-1:45pm (PST), or by appointment.
SMI 212B
Professor Charity Urbanski
Associate Teaching Professor
urbanski@uw.edu / (206) 616-5378
Office Hours: On leave until January 2021
SMI 316B
Professor Joel Walker
Associate Professor, Lawrence J. Roseman Endowed Professorship in History
jwalker@uw.edu / 206-890-0241
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 206B
Professor Adam Warren
Associate Professor
awarren2@uw.edu / (206) 543-1197
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 218C
Professor Anand Yang
Professor, Walker Family Endowed Professor in History
aay@uw.edu / (206) 543-4902
Office Hours: AUT 20: Please contact to set up a virtual appointment.
SMI 316C

Emeritus Faculty

Frank Conlon
Professor Emeritus
conlon@uw.edu / (206) 543-5790
SMI 10
Patricia Ebrey
Professor Emeritus
ebrey@uw.edu / (206) 685-1528
Office Hours: Contact by email to set up online meeting.
SMI 112A
Kent Guy
Professor Emeritus
qing@uw.edu / (206) 616-5279
SMI 010
Richard Kirkendall
Professor Emeritus
rsk@uw.edu / (206) 543-7972
SMI 10
Fred Levy
Professor Emeritus
flevy@uw.edu / (206) 543-7972
SMI 10
Professor Hwasook Nam
Associate Professor Emeritus, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
hsnam@uw.edu / (206) 685-7756
Thomson 301A
Mary O'Neil
Associate Professor Emeritus
oneilmr@uw.edu / (206) 543-9370
SMI 212A
Kenneth Pyle
Professor Emeritus
kbp@uw.edu / (206) 543-7717
Office Hours: MW 3:30-4:15 & By Appointment
THO 229
Professor Emeritus Quintard Taylor
Professor Emeritus, Scott and Dorothy Bullitt Professor of American History
qtaylor@uw.edu

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Email / Phone
Beadie, Nancy Adjunct Professor nbeadie@uw.edu
Berger, Dan Adjunct Associate Professor daberger@uw.edu
Bessner, Daniel Adjunct Assistant Professor dbessner@uw.edu
Freije, Vanessa Adjunct Assistant Professor vfreije@uw.edu
Gowing, Alain M. Adjunct Professor alain@uw.edu
Johnson, Eric W. Director of Technical Services, Affiliate Instructor ejred@uw.edu
206-616-9169
Kurashige, Scott Adjunct Professor stk4@uw.edu
Lange, Tyler Affiliate Assistant Professor langet2@uw.edu
(206)543-1633
Levy, La TaSha Adjunct Assistant Professor levyl@uw.edu
Lin , James Adjunct Assistant Professor jyslin@uw.edu
(206) 543-1565
Méndez, Alina Adjunct Assistant Professor armendez@uw.edu
Noegel, Scott B. Adjunct Professor snoegel@uw.edu
Novetzke, Christian Adjunct Professor novetzke@uw.edu
Pianko, Noam Adjunct Professor npianko@uw.edu
Turnovsky, Geoffrey Adjunct Associate Professor gt2@uw.edu
Way, Thaisa Adjunct Professor tway@uw.edu
Williams, Michael A. Adjunct Professor maw@uw.edu
Woody, Andrea J. Adjunct Professor awoody@uw.edu
Yee, Shirley J. Adjunct Professor sjyee@uw.edu
Share