You are here

People - Faculty

Professor Anand Yang
Professor, Chair, College of Arts and Sciences Term Professor
aay@uw.edu / (206) 543-4902
403 Thomson; 308C Smith
Jordanna Bailkin
Professor, Jere L. Bacharach Endowed Professor in International Studies
bailkin@uw.edu / (206) 543-7342
Office Hours: By Appointment
SMI 218D
Professor Dong
Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
yuedong@uw.edu / (206) 543-4999
Office Hours: Contact JSIS
THO 203C
Patricia Ebrey
Professor, Williams Family Endowed Professor in History
ebrey@uw.edu / (206) 685-1528
Office Hours: Hours: W 1:30-3:30
SMI 112A
Professor James Felak
Professor
felak@uw.edu / (206) 543-4797
Office Hours: W 2:00-3:00 & By Appointment
SMI 112B
Professor John Findlay
Professor
jfindlay@uw.edu / (206) 543-2573
Office Hours: W 1:30-3:20 & By Appointment
SMI 108B
Professor Christoph Giebel
Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies, The Col. Donald W. Wiethuechter, USA Ret. Endowed Faculty Fellow in the History of War and Society
giebel@uw.edu
THO 320
Bruce Hevly
Associate Professor
bhevly@uw.edu / (206) 543-9417
Office Hours: MW 1:30-3:00
SMI 302
Eric Johnson PhD
Director of Technical Services, Lecturer
ejred@uw.edu / 206-616-9169
SMI 206C
Professor Moon-Ho Jung
Professor, Dio Richardson Endowed Professor
mhjung@uw.edu / (206) 543-2798
Office Hours: Th 1:00-3:00 & By Appointment (No Office Hours on November 29, 2018)
SMI 204D
Mark Metzler
Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
mmetzler@uw.edu / (206) 221-5509
THO 436
Professor Matthew Mosca
Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
mosca@uw.edu
SMI 103E
Devin Naar with Ladino artifact
Associate Professor, Isaac Alhadeff Professor of Sephardic Studies, Sephardic Studies Program Chair, Director of Graduate Studies
denaar@uw.edu / (206) 616-6202
Office Hours: By Appointment Only
THO 322
Linda Nash
Professor, Director, Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest, John Calhoun Smith Memorial Endowed Professor
lnash@uw.edu / (206) 616-7176
Office Hours: On leave during 2018-19 academic year
SMI 203A
Margaret O'Mara headshot
Professor, Howard and Frances Keller Endowed Professor
momara@uw.edu / (206) 685-2928
Office Hours: TuTh 1:30-2:30, sign up here: https://tinyurl.com/yb6r7c39
SMI 204B
Mary O'Neil
Associate Professor
oneilmr@uw.edu / (206) 543-9370
Office Hours: W 1:30-3:00 & By Appointment
SMI 212A
Ileana Rodriguez-Silva
Associate Professor, Giovanni and Amne Costigan Endowed Professor
imrodrig@uw.edu / (206) 543-6081
Office Hours: Th 2:00-3:00 & By Appointment
SMI 204C
Professor William Rorabaugh
Professor
rorabaug@uw.edu / (206) 543-9856
Office Hours: MTWThF 12:00-12:30 & By Appointment
SMI 316C
Laurie Sears
Professor, Walker Family Endowed Professor in History
lsears@uw.edu / (206) 543-5745
Office Hours: Email for appointment
SMI 103F
Robert Stacey
Professor, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
bstacey@uw.edu / (206) 221-3491
Office Hours: By appointment only. Email mhr@uw.edu.
CMU 071
Professor Charity Urbanski
Senior Lecturer, Joff Hanauer Endowed Faculty Fellow
urbanski@uw.edu / (206) 616-5378
Office Hours: FALL 2018: T W 11-12, and by appointment
SMI 316B
Professor Joel Walker
Associate Professor, Lawrence J. Roseman Endowed Professorship in History
jwalker@uw.edu / 206-890-0241
Office Hours: Mondays, 11:30-12:20 and by appointment.
Smith Hall, room 206B
Glennys Young
Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies, Jon Bridgman Endowed Professor
glennys@uw.edu / (206) 685-8192
Office Hours: Tu 11-12, Thursday 4-5, & By Appointment
SMI 303F

Emeritus Faculty

Frank Conlon
Professor Emeritus
conlon@uw.edu / (206) 543-5790
SMI 10
Kent Guy
Professor Emeritus
qing@uw.edu / (206) 616-5279
SMI 010
Professor Emeritus
sjoshel@uw.edu / (206) 543-8426
Office Hours: TTh 1:00-2:00 & By Appointment
SMI 103G
Richard Kirkendall
Professor Emeritus
rsk@uw.edu / (206) 543-7972
SMI 10
Fred Levy
Professor Emeritus
flevy@uw.edu / (206) 543-7972
SMI 10
Professor Hwasook Nam
Associate Professor Emeritus, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
hsnam@uw.edu / (206) 685-7756
Office Hours: By Appointment
THO 301A
Kenneth Pyle
Professor Emeritus
kbp@uw.edu / (206) 543-7717
Office Hours: MW 3:30-4:15 & By Appointment
THO 229
Professor Emeritus Quintard Taylor
Professor Emeritus, Scott and Dorothy Bullitt Professor of American History
qtaylor@uw.edu / (206) 543-5698
SMI 316A

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Email / Phone
Beadie, Nancy Adjunct Faculty nbeadie@uw.edu
Berger, Dan Adjunct Faculty daberger@uw.edu
Bessner, Daniel Adjunct Assistant Professor dbessner@uw.edu
Fine, Arthur I. Adjunct Faculty afine@uw.edu
Freije, Vanessa Adjunct Assistant Professor vfreije@uw.edu
Gamboa, Erasmo Associate Professor gamboae@uw.edu
Gowing, Alain M. Adjunct Faculty alain@uw.edu
Kurashige, Scott Adjunct Professor stk4@uw.edu
Leiren, Terje I. Adjunct Faculty leiren@uw.edu
Lin , James Adjunct Assistant Professor , Assistant Professor, Jackson School of International Studies jyslin@uw.edu
Noegel, Scott B. Chair and Professor snoegel@uw.edu
Novetzke, Christian Adjunct Faculty novetzke@uw.edu
Pianko, Noam Associate Professor npianko@uw.edu
Way, Thaisa Adjunct Faculty tway@uw.edu
Williams, Michael A. Professor maw@uw.edu
Woody, Andrea J. Associate Professor awoody@uw.edu
Yee, Shirley J. Adjunct Professor sjyee@uw.edu
Share