You are here

People - Full Directory

Name Title Email / Phone Office Hours
Aguirre, Michael D. Doctoral Candidate aguirrem@uw.edu
Alden, Dauril Professor Emeritus dauril@earthlink.net
(206) 543-7972
SMI 10
Anthony, Lori Graduate Program Assistant, Alumni histgrad@uw.edu
(206) 543-8291
SMI 315B
Apfel, Josh Administrator joshito@uw.edu
(206) 543-2375
SMI 308A
Archibald, Ryan Doctoral Candidate rarchiba@uw.edu
Bacharach, Jere Professor Emeritus jere@uw.edu
(206) 543-5790
SMI 10
Bachman, Jessica Doctoral Candidate jlb49@uw.edu
Bailkin, Jordanna Professor, Jere L. Bacharach Endowed Professor in International Studies bailkin@uw.edu
(206) 543-7342
SMI 218D
By Appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Bayona, Jorge E. Doctoral Candidate jbayona@uw.edu
Behlmer, George Professor behlmer@uw.edu
(206) 543-5747
SMI 108A
W 2:00-3:30 & By Appointment
Bergquist, Charles Professor Emeritus caramba@uw.edu
(206) 543-5790
SMI 10
Bet-Shlimon, Arbella Assistant Professor shlimon@uw.edu
(206) 616-5279
SMI 204A
SPR & SUM 2019: Away From Office. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Blank, Katie Doctoral Candidate kblank5@uw.edu
Bresnahan, David Lecturer dbres@uw.edu
(206) 543-4499
SMI 212B
Campbell, Elena I. Associate Professor, Joff Hanauer Endowed Faculty Fellow in History eicampb@uw.edu
(206) 543-6924
SMI 208A
Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Chaterji, Katia Doctoral Candidate chaterji@uw.edu
Claycomb, Jessica Fiscal Specialist 2 jmariec@uw.edu
(206) 543-5790
SMI 318
Coen, Ross Doctoral Candidate rcoen@uw.edu
Colley, Alexandra Assistant to the Chair alexc09@uw.edu
(206) 543-6224
Smith 308B
Conlon, Frank Professor Emeritus conlon@uw.edu
(206) 543-5790
SMI 10
Cotton, Matthew D. Doctoral Candidate cotton88@uw.edu
(620) 242-3311
Craddick, Jordan Lee Doctoral Candidate craddick@uw.edu
Dhavan, Purnima Associate Professor pdhavan@uw.edu
(206) 616-5298
SMI 206D
Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Dong, Madeleine Yue Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies yuedong@uw.edu
(206) 543-4999
THO 203C
Contact JSIS
Early, Sara Editor, Pacific Northwest Quarterly searly@uw.edu
(206) 543-2992
SMI 203B
Ebrey, Patricia Professor ebrey@uw.edu
(206) 685-1528
SMI 112A
Hours: W 1:30-3:30
Elezovic, Arna Doctoral Candidate elezovic@uw.edu Autumn 2018: Mondays and Wednesdays 1130-1230, Padelford B-10
Estrada, Josue Q. Doctoral Candidate, Mangels Endowed Fellow jqe@uw.edu Smith 214
Tuesdays, 130-3:30 pm
Felak, James Professor felak@uw.edu
(206) 543-4797
SMI 112B
W 2:00-3:00 & By Appointment
Ferrill, Arther Professor Emeritus ferrill@uw.edu
Findlay, John M. Professor jfindlay@uw.edu
(206) 543-2573
SMI 108B
W 1:30-3:20 & By Appointment
Forman, Cyrus Ralston Doctoral Candidate cforman@uw.edu
Fowler, Wilton Professor Emeritus willfowl@uw.edu
(206) 543-5790
SMI 10
Giebel, Christoph Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies, The Col. Donald W. Wiethuechter, USA Ret. Endowed Faculty Fellow in the History of War and Society giebel@uw.edu THO 320
Gil, Carlos Professor Emeritus gil@uw.edu
(206) 543-7972
SMI 10
Glenn, Susan A. Professor glenns@uw.edu
(206) 543-9429
SMI 218B
By Appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Green, F. Mira Lecturer mirag@uw.edu
(206) 616-2418
SMI 104B
Gregory, James Professor, Williams Endowed Professor gregoryj@uw.edu
(206) 543-7792
SMI 312B
Tu 3:30-4:30 & By Appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Guy, R. Kent Professor Emeritus qing@uw.edu
(206) 616-5279
SMI 010
Haddad-Fonda, Kyle Lecturer Part-Time kqhf@uw.edu 208B
Thursdays before 3pm by appointment
Hall, Emily Marie Anderson Doctoral Candidate emily4mi@uw.edu SMI 318
T 11:00-12:00 & By Appointment
Halperin, Liora Associate Professor lhalper@uw.edu THO 316
Hankins, Thomas Professor Emeritus hankins@uw.edu
(206) 543-5790
SMI 10
Harmon, Alexandra J. Professor Emeritus aharmon@uw.edu
Hedden, Andrew Associate Director, Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies heddena@uw.edu
(206) 543-7946
SMI M266
By appointment.
Heslop, Madison Doctoral Candidate mlheslop@uw.edu By appointment
Hevly, Bruce Associate Professor bhevly@uw.edu
(206) 543-9417
SMI 302
MW 1:30-3:00. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Hinchliffe, Emma Doctoral Candidate, Department Web SA emmarh@uw.edu SMI 103A
By appointment
Horst, Bradley Doctoral Candidate bthorst@uw.edu
Jiamrattanyoo, Arthit Doctoral Candidate arthitj@uw.edu
Johnson, Richard Professor Emeritus rrj@uw.edu
(206) 543-4967
SMI 312B
Jonas, Raymond Professor jonas@uw.edu
(206) 543-5790
SMI 210b
W 2:30-3:20 (during regular academic year) also by appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hour
Joshel, Sandra Professor Emeritus sjoshel@uw.edu
(206) 543-8426
SMI 103G
TTh 1:00-2:00 & By Appointment
Jung, Moon-Ho Professor, Dio Richardson Endowed Professor mhjung@uw.edu
(206) 543-2798
SMI 204D
By appointment (via email). Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Kane, Adrian A. Doctoral Candidate akane14@uw.edu Abroad in India and Singapore Spring 2019
Keel, Roneva Doctoral Candidate rkeel@uw.edu SMI 103B
Friday, 10:30-12:20, and by appointment
Kirkendall, Richard Professor Emeritus rsk@uw.edu
(206) 543-7972
SMI 10
Levy, Fred Professor Emeritus flevy@uw.edu
(206) 543-7972
SMI 10
Lillie, Aaron Ph.D. Student ajl22@uw.edu
Lin, Hongxuan Doctoral Candidate, Teaching assistant linhx@uw.edu Smith 006
By appointment via email
Lozar, Patrick Doctoral Candidate plozar@uw.edu By appointment
Marhoefer, Laurie Associate Professor marl@uw.edu SMI 118
Maschman Morrissey, Tracy Director of Academic Services tmasch@uw.edu
(206) 221-5013
Smith 315A
Drop-in or by appointment
McElmeel, Brendan Ph.D. Student bmcel@uw.edu Smith 08
Tues and Thurs 11:15-12:15 and by appointment
McKaig, Kim Editor, Pacific Northwest Quarterly kmmckaig@uw.edu
(206) 543-2992
SMI 203C
McNally, Debbie Lecturer Part-Time dcm9@uw.edu
(206) 543-0729
SMI 104C
Metzler, Mark Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies mmetzler@uw.edu
(206) 221-5509
THO 436
Mosca, Matthew W. Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies mosca@uw.edu SMI 103E
Mudrock, Theresa History Research Librarian mudrock@uw.edu
(206) 685-1623
Suzzallo Library rm. 136
By appointment at: https://uw.libcal.com/appointments/mudrock
Naar, Devin E. Associate Professor, Isaac Alhadeff Professor of Sephardic Studies, Sephardic Studies Program Chair, Director of Graduate Studies denaar@uw.edu
(206) 616-6202
THO 322
By Appointment Only
Nam, Hwasook Associate Professor Emeritus, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies hsnam@uw.edu
(206) 685-7756
THO 301A
By Appointment
Nash, Linda Professor lnash@uw.edu
(206) 616-7176
SMI 203A
On leave during 2018-19 academic year
O'Mara, Margaret Professor, Howard and Frances Keller Endowed Professor momara@uw.edu
(206) 685-2928
SMI 204B
Sign up here: https://tinyurl.com/yb6r7c39 . Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
O'Neil, Mary Associate Professor oneilmr@uw.edu
(206) 543-9370
SMI 212A
W 1:30-3:00 & By Appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Osborn, Julie Writing Center Director histwctr@uw.edu
(206) 543-5692
SMI 210C
MWF 11:00-12:30
Pyle, Kenneth Professor Emeritus kbp@uw.edu
(206) 543-7717
THO 229
MW 3:30-4:15 & By Appointment
Rafael, Vicente L. Giovanni and Amne Costigan Endowed Professorship vrafael@uw.edu
(206) 543-5699
SMI 116A
By appointment
Reid, Joshua L. Associate Professor, Director, Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest jlreid@uw.edu SMI 208B
Roberts, Nathan E. Lecturer Part-Time ner3@uw.edu
(206) 543-0729
SMI 104C
Rodriguez-Silva, Ileana Associate Professor, Giovanni and Amne Costigan Endowed Professor imrodrig@uw.edu
(206) 543-6081
SMI 204C
Th 2:00-3:00 & By Appointment.Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Rorabaugh, William Professor rorabaug@uw.edu
(206) 543-9856
SMI 103G
MTWThF 12:00-12:30 & By Appointment
Schatte, Katja Doctoral Candidate, Predoctoral Instructor & Teaching Assistant kschatte@uw.edu
Schmidt, Benjamin Professor schmidtb@uw.edu
(206) 543-2373
SMI 116
By appointment
Sears, Laurie Professor Emeritus lsears@uw.edu
(206) 543-5745
SMI 103F
Email for appointment
Short, Devin Ph.D Student shortda@uw.edu Smith 214
Smallwood, Stephanie Associate Professor ses9@uw.edu
(206) 543-2016
SMI 104A
Smith, Jennifer Doctoral Candidate jms89@uw.edu Smith 203A
Soja, Taylor Doctoral Candidate , Teaching assistant tsoja@uw.edu
Stacey, Robert Professor, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences bstacey@uw.edu
(206) 221-3491
CMU 071
By appointment only. Email mhr@uw.edu.
Stacey, Robin Chapman Professor rcstacey@uw.edu
(206) 543-9418
SMI 312A
By appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Taylor, Quintard Professor Emeritus, Scott and Dorothy Bullitt Professor of American History qtaylor@uw.edu
(206) 543-5698
SMI 316A
Taylor, Rachel Lanier Doctoral Candidate, History, Graduate Intern, Society for History in the Federal Government rachellt@uw.edu
Thomas, Carol Professor Emeritus carolt@uw.edu
(206) 543-5790
SMI 10
Thomas, Lynn M. Professor lynnmt@uw.edu
(206) 543-4499
SMI 212B
By appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Thurtle, Phillip Professor thurtle@uw.edu
(206) 616-3545
PDL B-103
Contact CHID
Toews, John Professor Emeritus toews@uw.edu
(206) 543-9855
SMI 312A
Ullman, Joan Professor Emeritus ullman@uw.edu
Urbanski, Charity Senior Lecturer urbanski@uw.edu
(206) 616-5378
SMI 316B
SPRING 2019: MW 11-12 or by appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Vacek, Shannon Undergraduate Academic Adviser svacek@uw.edu
(206) 543-5691
SMI 315C
Drop in or by appointment
Van Duyn, Matthew Doctoral Candidate mvanduyn@uw.edu
Walker, Joel Thomas Associate Professor, Lawrence J. Roseman Endowed Professorship in History jwalker@uw.edu
206-890-0241
SMI 206B
Mondays, 11:30-12:20 and by appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Warren, Adam Associate Professor awarren2@uw.edu
(206) 543-1197
SMI 218C
By Appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Waugh, Daniel Professor Emeritus dwaugh@uw.edu
(206) 543-5790
Yang, Anand Professor, Chair, College of Arts and Sciences Term Professor aay@uw.edu
(206) 543-4902
SMI 308C
Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Young, Glennys Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies, Jon Bridgman Endowed Professor glennys@uw.edu
(206) 685-8192
SMI 303F
Tu 11-12, Thursday 4-5, & By Appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
Zeng, Xiaoshun PhD Student zengx672@uw.edu

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Email / Phone
Beadie, Nancy Adjunct Professor nbeadie@uw.edu
Berger, Dan Adjunct Associate Professor daberger@uw.edu
Bessner, Daniel Adjunct Assistant Professor dbessner@uw.edu
Freije, Vanessa Adjunct Assistant Professor vfreije@uw.edu
Gowing, Alain M. Adjunct Professor alain@uw.edu
Johnson, Eric W. Director of Technical Services, Affiliate Instructor ejred@uw.edu
206-616-9169
Kurashige, Scott Adjunct Professor stk4@uw.edu
Lin , James Adjunct Assistant Professor jyslin@uw.edu
Noegel, Scott B. Adjunct Professor snoegel@uw.edu
Novetzke, Christian Adjunct Professor novetzke@uw.edu
Pianko, Noam Adjunct Professor npianko@uw.edu
Way, Thaisa Adjunct Professor tway@uw.edu
Williams, Michael A. Adjunct Professor maw@uw.edu
Woody, Andrea J. Adjunct Professor awoody@uw.edu
Yee, Shirley J. Adjunct Professor sjyee@uw.edu
Share