You are here

People - Faculty

Professor Anand Yang
Professor, Chair, College of Arts and Sciences Term Professor
aay@uw.edu / (206) 543-4902
Office Hours: Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 308C
Jordanna Bailkin
Professor, Jere L. Bacharach Endowed Professor in International Studies
bailkin@uw.edu / (206) 543-7342
Office Hours: By Appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 218D
Photo of Arbella Bet-Shlimon
Assistant Professor
shlimon@uw.edu / (206) 616-5279
Office Hours: SPR & SUM 2019: Away From Office. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 204A
Professor Elena Campbell
Associate Professor, Joff Hanauer Endowed Faculty Fellow in History
eicampb@uw.edu / (206) 543-6924
Office Hours: Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 208A
Professor Purnima Dhavan
Associate Professor
pdhavan@uw.edu / (206) 616-5298
Office Hours: Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 206D
Professor Dong
Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
yuedong@uw.edu / (206) 543-4999
Office Hours: Contact JSIS
THO 203C
Patricia Ebrey
Professor
ebrey@uw.edu / (206) 685-1528
Office Hours: Hours: W 1:30-3:30
SMI 112A
Professor James Felak
Professor
felak@uw.edu / (206) 543-4797
Office Hours: W 2:00-3:00 & By Appointment
SMI 112B
Professor John Findlay
Professor
jfindlay@uw.edu / (206) 543-2573
Office Hours: W 1:30-3:20 & By Appointment
SMI 108B
Professor Christoph Giebel
Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies, The Col. Donald W. Wiethuechter, USA Ret. Endowed Faculty Fellow in the History of War and Society
giebel@uw.edu
THO 320
Susan A. Glenn
Professor
glenns@uw.edu / (206) 543-9429
Office Hours: By Appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 218B
F. Mira Green
Lecturer
mirag@uw.edu / (206) 616-2418
SMI 104B
James Gregory
Professor, Williams Endowed Professor
gregoryj@uw.edu / (206) 543-7792
Office Hours: Tu 3:30-4:30 & By Appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 312B
Photo of Kyle Haddad-Fonda
Lecturer Part-Time
kqhf@uw.edu
Office Hours: Thursdays before 3pm by appointment
208B
Bruce Hevly
Associate Professor
bhevly@uw.edu / (206) 543-9417
Office Hours: MW 1:30-3:00. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 302
Raymond Jonas
Professor
jonas@uw.edu / (206) 543-5790
Office Hours: W 2:30-3:20 (during regular academic year) also by appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hour
SMI 210b
Professor Moon-Ho Jung
Professor, Dio Richardson Endowed Professor
mhjung@uw.edu / (206) 543-2798
Office Hours: By appointment (via email). Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 204D
Mark Metzler
Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
mmetzler@uw.edu / (206) 221-5509
THO 436
Professor Matthew Mosca
Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
mosca@uw.edu
SMI 103E
Devin Naar with Ladino artifact
Associate Professor, Isaac Alhadeff Professor of Sephardic Studies, Sephardic Studies Program Chair, Director of Graduate Studies
denaar@uw.edu / (206) 616-6202
Office Hours: By Appointment Only
THO 322
Linda Nash
Professor
lnash@uw.edu / (206) 616-7176
Office Hours: On leave during 2018-19 academic year
SMI 203A
Margaret O'Mara, Howard & Frances Keller Professor of History, University of Washington
Professor, Howard and Frances Keller Endowed Professor
momara@uw.edu / (206) 685-2928
Office Hours: Sign up here: https://tinyurl.com/yb6r7c39 . Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 204B
Mary O'Neil
Associate Professor
oneilmr@uw.edu / (206) 543-9370
Office Hours: W 1:30-3:00 & By Appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 212A
Ileana Rodriguez-Silva
Associate Professor, Giovanni and Amne Costigan Endowed Professor
imrodrig@uw.edu / (206) 543-6081
Office Hours: Th 2:00-3:00 & By Appointment.Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 204C
Professor William Rorabaugh
Professor
rorabaug@uw.edu / (206) 543-9856
Office Hours: MTWThF 12:00-12:30 & By Appointment
SMI 103G
Robert Stacey
Professor, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
bstacey@uw.edu / (206) 221-3491
Office Hours: By appointment only. Email mhr@uw.edu.
CMU 071
Professor Robin Stacey
Professor
rcstacey@uw.edu / (206) 543-9418
Office Hours: By appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 312A
Professor Lynn Thomas
Professor
lynnmt@uw.edu / (206) 543-4499
Office Hours: By appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 212B
Professor Charity Urbanski
Senior Lecturer
urbanski@uw.edu / (206) 616-5378
Office Hours: SPRING 2019: MW 11-12 or by appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 316B
Professor Joel Walker
Associate Professor, Lawrence J. Roseman Endowed Professorship in History
jwalker@uw.edu / 206-890-0241
Office Hours: Mondays, 11:30-12:20 and by appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 206B
Professor Adam Warren
Associate Professor
awarren2@uw.edu / (206) 543-1197
Office Hours: By Appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 218C
Glennys Young
Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies, Jon Bridgman Endowed Professor
glennys@uw.edu / (206) 685-8192
Office Hours: Tu 11-12, Thursday 4-5, & By Appointment. Smith Hall will have no elevator from June 17 through the end of November. Access to floors 2 and above is solely by stairs. Please contact me if you require an accommodation for office hours or other events.
SMI 303F

Emeritus Faculty

Frank Conlon
Professor Emeritus
conlon@uw.edu / (206) 543-5790
SMI 10
Kent Guy
Professor Emeritus
qing@uw.edu / (206) 616-5279
SMI 010
Professor Emeritus
sjoshel@uw.edu / (206) 543-8426
Office Hours: TTh 1:00-2:00 & By Appointment
SMI 103G
Richard Kirkendall
Professor Emeritus
rsk@uw.edu / (206) 543-7972
SMI 10
Fred Levy
Professor Emeritus
flevy@uw.edu / (206) 543-7972
SMI 10
Professor Hwasook Nam
Associate Professor Emeritus, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
hsnam@uw.edu / (206) 685-7756
Office Hours: By Appointment
THO 301A
Kenneth Pyle
Professor Emeritus
kbp@uw.edu / (206) 543-7717
Office Hours: MW 3:30-4:15 & By Appointment
THO 229
Professor Emeritus Quintard Taylor
Professor Emeritus, Scott and Dorothy Bullitt Professor of American History
qtaylor@uw.edu / (206) 543-5698
SMI 316A

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Namesort descending Title Email / Phone
Beadie, Nancy Adjunct Professor nbeadie@uw.edu
Berger, Dan Adjunct Associate Professor daberger@uw.edu
Bessner, Daniel Adjunct Assistant Professor dbessner@uw.edu
Freije, Vanessa Adjunct Assistant Professor vfreije@uw.edu
Gowing, Alain M. Adjunct Professor alain@uw.edu
Johnson, Eric W. Director of Technical Services, Affiliate Instructor ejred@uw.edu
206-616-9169
Kurashige, Scott Adjunct Professor stk4@uw.edu
Lin , James Adjunct Assistant Professor jyslin@uw.edu
Noegel, Scott B. Adjunct Professor snoegel@uw.edu
Novetzke, Christian Adjunct Professor novetzke@uw.edu
Pianko, Noam Adjunct Professor npianko@uw.edu
Way, Thaisa Adjunct Professor tway@uw.edu
Williams, Michael A. Adjunct Professor maw@uw.edu
Woody, Andrea J. Adjunct Professor awoody@uw.edu
Yee, Shirley J. Adjunct Professor sjyee@uw.edu
Share